END OF SEASON AWARDS EVENING  –  Saturday 20th April 2024

After the end of their most successful season for more than a decade the players, officials and supporters gathered at the Club for the end of season presentations.

The event culminated with an unscheduled event as goalkeeping coach (and club transport driver) Gary Dean went down on one knee to propose to his girlfriend and club officer Shelley Phypers. His proposal was, of course, accepted to seal the end of a very successful season for the club (and the couple).

Earlier Club Chairman Barry Cavilla had summarised the 2023/24 season as successfully outstanding thanks to an all-round effort by all from the Management, players, supporters, and a host of behind-the-scenes workers. He referred to the position of the club less than twelve months earlier relegated from Step Four of the National League system back to the United Counties League where they had started their rise up through the system ten years earlier winning promotion to the Southern League Midland Division and on to the Premier Division at Step Three where they had contested the play-offs.  “A football club is about all its players, workers, and supporters” he said and its successes deserve celebrating.

Club President John Walker congratulated the team on their fourth placed finish in an extremely competitive division paying a fulsome tribute to Manager Cameron Mawer in his first season. He had rebuilt the squad from scratch, and they had responded. He looked forward confidently to an even more successful season next time around.

Manager Cameron Mawer thanked his players and all the backroom helpers and supporters saying that his aim was the same as when he was appointed – a return to Step Three within five years.

The awards were as follows:

Young Player of the Year:                Harvey Williams

Most Outstanding goal:                   Christian Tavernier

Most Improved Player:                     Israel Ajana

Managers Player of the Year:          James Goff

Leading Goal scorer:                       Jordan Brown

Clubman of the Year:                       James Hatch

Supporters Player of the Year:       James Goff

Players Player of the Year:              James Goff

MoM overall winner:              James Hatch


The players then made awards and thank you gestures to those who had supported them throughout the season. The ladies responsible for Hospitality, Match Day 50/50 Draw and Merchandise Sales were all recognised with bouquets. There were awards for Mike and Charlie Green for their Social Media work throughout the season, Chairman Barry Cavilla and Club Secretary Gary Wilson. Others recognised were physiotherapist Craig Lambert, goalkeeping coach Gary Dean, Club Manager Cameron Mawer, Assistant Steve Kuhne (a club legend!) and coach Alex Minall. Kit man Mick Hunt recovering from an accident, was wished a speedy recovery.

John Walker

Club President